استخدام VPN لتأمين شبكة لاسلكية للمؤسسة



في هذه المقالة سأناقش تصميم شبكة WLAN داخل الحرم الجامعي معقد إلى حد ما ولكنه آمن ويمكن نشره في بيئة مؤسسة.

أحد أهم اهتمامات تشغيل الشبكات اللاسلكية اليوم هو أمان البيانات يشمل أمان 802.11 WLAN التقليدي استخدام مصادقة مفتوحة أو مشتركة ومفاتيح خصوصية سلكية ثابتة مكافئة (WEP). يمكن اختراق كل عنصر من عناصر التحكم والخصوصية هذه. يعمل WEP على طبقة ارتباط البيانات ويتطلب من جميع الأطراف مشاركة نفس المفتاح السري. يمكن بسهولة كسر كل من المتغيرات 40 و 128-bit من WEP باستخدام الأدوات المتاحة بسهولة. يمكن تقسيم مفاتيح WEP الثابتة بت 128 في أقل من 15 دقيقة على شبكة WLAN عالية الحركة بسبب وجود عيب ملازم في خوارزمية تشفير RC4. باستخدام أسلوب هجوم FMS نظريًا ، يمكنك اشتقاق مفتاح WEP في نطاق من 100,000 إلى حزم 1,000,000 المشفرة باستخدام نفس المفتاح.

على الرغم من أن بعض الشبكات يمكن أن تعمل من خلال مصادقة المفتاح المفتوح أو المشترك ومفاتيح تشفير WEP المعرّفة بشكل ثابت ، فليس من الجيد الاعتماد على مقدار الأمان هذا وحده في بيئة شبكة مؤسسة حيث يمكن أن تكون الجائزة تستحق المجهود من أجل مهاجم. في هذه الحالة ، ستحتاج إلى نوع من الحماية الممتدة.

هناك بعض تحسينات التشفير الجديدة للمساعدة في التغلب على ثغرات WEP كما هو محدد بواسطة معيار IEEE 802.11i. تحسينات برمجية لـ WEP المستندة إلى RC4 والمعروفة باسم TKIP أو Temporal Key Integrity Protocol و AES والتي ستعتبر بديلاً أقوى عن RC4. تتضمن إصدارات المؤسسات من الوصول المحمي بالدقة اللاسلكية أو WPA TKIP بالإضافة إلى ذلك PPK (لكل مفتاح حزمة) و MIC (تدقيق تكامل الرسائل). يمتد WPA TKIP أيضًا متجه التهيئة من بتات 24 إلى بتات 48 ويتطلب 802.1X لـ 802.11. يعد استخدام WPA على طول EAP للمصادقة المركزية والتوزيع الديناميكي للمفتاح بديلاً أقوى لمعيار الأمان 802.11 التقليدي.

ومع ذلك ، فإن تفضيلي بالإضافة إلى كثيرين آخرين هو تراكب IPSec أعلى حركة مرور 802.11 النصية الواضحة. توفر IPSec سرية اتصالات البيانات وتكاملها وصحتها عبر شبكات غير آمنة من خلال تشفير البيانات باستخدام DES أو 3DES أو AES. من خلال وضع نقطة الوصول إلى الشبكة اللاسلكية على شبكة LAN معزولة حيث تكون نقطة الخروج الوحيدة محمية بفلاتر حركة المرور فقط مما يسمح بإنشاء نفق IPSec لعنوان مضيف معين ، فإنه يجعل الشبكة اللاسلكية غير مجدية إلا إذا كان لديك بيانات اعتماد مصادقة لـ VPN. بمجرد إنشاء اتصال IPSec الموثوق به ، ستكون كل حركة المرور من الجهاز النهائي إلى الجزء الموثوق به من الشبكة محمية بالكامل. ما عليك سوى تشديد إدارة نقطة الوصول بحيث لا يمكن العبث بها.

يمكنك تشغيل خدمات DHCP و DNS وكذلك لسهولة الإدارة ولكن إذا كنت ترغب في القيام بذلك ، فمن الأفضل أن تقوم بالتصفية باستخدام قائمة عناوين MAC وتعطيل أي بث SSID مثل الشبكة الفرعية اللاسلكية للشبكة محمية إلى حد ما من DoS المحتملة الهجمات.

من الواضح الآن أنه لا يزال بإمكانك التجول في قائمة عناوين MAC ومعرف SSID الذي لم يتم بثه من خلال برامج عشوائية لاستنساخ MAC و MAC مع أكبر تهديد أمني ما زال هناك حتى الآن ، الهندسة الاجتماعية ، لكن الخطر الأساسي لا يزال مجرد خسارة محتملة للخدمة للوصول اللاسلكي. في بعض الحالات ، قد يكون هذا مخاطرة كبيرة بما يكفي للتحقق من خدمات المصادقة الموسعة للوصول إلى الشبكة اللاسلكية نفسها.

مرة أخرى ، الهدف الأساسي في هذه المقالة هو جعل الوصول اللاسلكي سهلاً إلى حد ما وتوفير راحة المستخدم النهائي دون المساس بمواردك الداخلية الهامة وتعريض أصول شركتك للخطر. من خلال عزل الشبكة اللاسلكية غير الآمنة عن الشبكة السلكية الموثوق بها ، والتي تتطلب المصادقة ، والترخيص ، والمحاسبة ، ونفق VPN مشفر ، قمنا بذلك.

نلقي نظرة على الرسم أعلاه. في هذا التصميم ، استعملت جدار حماية متعدد الواجهات ومكثف VPN لواجهة متعددة لتأمين الشبكة بمستويات مختلفة من الثقة في كل منطقة. في هذا السيناريو ، لدينا أدنى واجهة خارجية موثوق بها ، ثم شبكة DMZ اللاسلكية الأكثر ثقة قليلاً ، ثم VPN DMZ الأكثر ثقة قليلاً ، ثم الواجهة الداخلية الأكثر ثقة. يمكن أن تتواجد كل واحدة من هذه الواجهات على مفتاح مادي مختلف أو ببساطة شبكة محلية ظاهرية غير مجزأة في نسيج مفتاح الحرم الجامعي الداخلي.

كما ترون من الرسم ، توجد الشبكة اللاسلكية داخل قطاع DMZ اللاسلكي. الطريقة الوحيدة للوصول إلى الشبكة الموثوقة الداخلية أو العودة إلى الخارج (الإنترنت) هي من خلال واجهة DMZ اللاسلكية على جدار الحماية. تسمح القواعد الصادرة الوحيدة لشبكة DMZ الفرعية بالوصول إلى مُركزات VPN خارج عنوان الواجهة الموجودة في VPN DMZ عبر ESP و ISAKMP (IPSec). القواعد الواردة فقط على VPN DMZ هي ESP و ISAKMP من الشبكة الفرعية DMZ اللاسلكية إلى عنوان الواجهة الخارجية لمركز VPN. يسمح ذلك بإنشاء نفق VPN IPSec من عميل VPN على المضيف اللاسلكي إلى الواجهة الداخلية لمركز VPN الذي يوجد على الشبكة الموثوقة الداخلية. بمجرد بدء تشغيل النفق ، تتم مصادقة بيانات اعتماد المستخدم بواسطة خادم AAA الداخلي ، ويتم اعتماد الخدمات بناءً على بيانات الاعتماد هذه وتبدأ محاسبة الجلسة. ثم يتم تعيين عنوان داخلي صالح ويكون لدى المستخدم القدرة على الوصول إلى موارد الشركة الداخلية أو إلى الإنترنت من الشبكة الداخلية إذا كان الترخيص يسمح بذلك.

يمكن تعديل هذا التصميم بعدة طرق مختلفة اعتمادًا على توفر المعدات وتصميم الشبكة الداخلية. يمكن بالفعل استبدال DMZ لجدار الحماية بواجهات جهاز توجيه تقوم بتشغيل قوائم وصول الأمان أو حتى وحدة تبديل مسار داخلي تقوم بتوجيه شبكات محلية ظاهرية مختلفة تقريبًا. يمكن استبدال المكثف بجدار حماية كان قادرًا على VPN حيث يتم إنهاء IPSec VPN مباشرةً على DMZ اللاسلكي بحيث لا تكون VPN DMZ مطلوبة على الإطلاق.

هذه هي إحدى الطرق الأكثر أمانًا لدمج شبكة WLAN داخل الحرم الجامعي في حرم مؤسسة مضمون حالي.

Using a VPN to secure an enterprise wireless network



In this article I will discuss a fairly complex but secure campus WLAN design that could be deployed in an enterprise environment.

One of the primary concerns with running wireless networks today is data security Traditional 802.11 WLAN security includes the use of open or shared-key authentication and static wired equivalent privacy (WEP) keys. Each of these elements of control and privacy can be compromised. WEP operates on the data link layer and requires that all parties share the same secret key. Both 40 and 128-bit variants of WEP can easily be broken with readily available tools. 128-bit static WEP keys can be broken in as little as 15 minutes on a high traffic WLAN because of an inherent shortcoming in the RC4 encryption algorithm. Using the FMS attack method theoretically you can derive a WEP key in a range from 100,000 to 1,000,000 packets encrypted using the same key.

While some networks can get by with open or shared key authentication and statically defined WEP encryption keys it's not a good idea to rely on this amount of security alone in an enterprise network environment where the prize could be worth the effort to a would be attacker. In this case you will need some sort of extended security.

There are some new encryption enhancements to help overcome WEP vulnerabilities as defined by the IEEE 802.11i standard. Software enhancements to RC4-based WEP known as TKIP or Temporal Key Integrity Protocol and AES which would be considered a stronger alternative to RC4. Enterprise versions of Wi -Fi Protected Access or WPA TKIP additionally includes PPK (per packet keying) and MIC (message integrity check). WPA TKIP also extends the initialization vector from 24 bits to 48 bits and requires 802.1X for 802.11. Using WPA along EAP for centralized authentication and dynamic key distribution is a much stronger alternative to the traditional 802.11 security standard.

However my preference as well as many others is to overlay IPSec on top of my clear text 802.11 traffic. IPSec provides confidentiality, integrity, and authenticity of data communications across unsecured networks by encrypting data with DES, 3DES or AES. By placing the wireless network access point on an isolated LAN where the only exit point is protected with traffic filters only allowing an IPSec tunnel to be established to a specific host address it renders the wireless network useless unless you have authentication credentials to the VPN. Once the trusted IPSec connection has been established all traffic from the end device to the trusted portion of the network will be completely protected. You only need to harden the management of the access point so it cannot be tampered with.

You can run DHCP and or DNS services as well for ease of management but if you wish to do so its a good idea to filter with a MAC address list and disable any SSID broadcasting such that wireless subnet of the network is somewhat protected from potential DoS attacks.

Now obviously you can still get around the MAC address list and the non-broadcasted SSID with random MAC and MAC cloning programs along with the biggest security threat out there still to date, Social Engineering but the primary risk is still just a potential loss of service to the wireless access. In some cases this might be a big enough risk to check out extended authentication services to gain access to the wireless network itself.

Again, the primary objective in this article is to make the wireless somewhat easy to access and provide the end user convenience without compromising your critical internal resources and putting your companies assets at risk. By isolating the unsecured wireless network from the trusted wired network, requiring authentication, authorization, accounting and an encrypted VPN tunnel we've done just that.

Take a look at the drawing above. In this design I've used a multiple interface firewall and a multiple interface VPN concentrator to really secure the network with different levels of trust in each zone. In this scenario we have the lowest trusted outside interface, then the slightly more trusted Wireless DMZ, then the slightly more trusted VPN DMZ and then the most trusted inside interface. Each of these interfaces could reside on a different physical switch or simply an unrouted VLAN in your internal campus switch fabric.

As you can see from the drawing the wireless network is located inside the wireless DMZ segment. The only way into the internal trusted network or back to the outside (internet) is through the wireless DMZ interface on the firewall. The only outbound rules allow the DMZ subnet to access the VPN concentrators outside interface address which resides on the VPN DMZ via ESP and ISAKMP (IPSec). The only inbound rules on the VPN DMZ is ESP and ISAKMP from the wireless DMZ subnet to the address of the external interface of the VPN concentrator. This allows an IPSec VPN tunnel to be built from the VPN client on the wireless host to the internal interface of the VPN concentrator which resides on the internal trusted network. Once the tunnel is request is initiated the user credentials are authenticated by the internal AAA server, services are authorized based on those credentials and session accounting starts. Then a valid internal address is assigned and the user has the ability to access internal company resources or to the Internet from the internal network if the authorization allows it.

This design could be modified in several different ways depending on the availability of equipment and the internal network design. The firewall DMZs could actually be replaced by router interfaces running security access lists or even an internal route switching module virtually routing different VLANs. The concentrator could be replaced by a firewall that was VPN capable where the IPSec VPN terminated directly at the wireless DMZ such that the VPN DMZ wouldn't be required at all.

This is one of the more secure ways of integrating an enterprise campus WLAN into an existing secured enterprise campus.